December 12, 2016

Grain Growers of Canada announces new President and Vice President

OTTAWA, December 12, 2016 – The Grain Growers of Canada today announced its Executive Committee for 2016/2017, elected at its Dec. 6 Board of Directors meeting. Jeff Nielsen has been elected to lead the organization as President, while Art Enns is GGC’s new Vice President.

Mr. Nielsen, who was elected Vice President in 2015, represents the Western Barley Growers Association on the Board of Directors, while Mr. Enns represents the Prairie Oat Growers Association. Outgoing President, Gary Stanford, held the position for three years and remains on the board as Past President representing the Alberta Wheat Commission.

Each member organization appoints a farmer director to the Grain Growers’ Board, from which a five person Executive Committee is elected. The Grain Growers of Canada’s Executive for 2016/2017 is:

  • President – Jeff Nielsen (Western Barley Growers Association)
  • Vice President – Art Enns (Prairie Oat Growers Association)
  • Executive – Michael Delaney (Atlantic Grains Council)
  • Executive – Ben Martens (Manitoba Pulse and Soybean Growers Association)
  • Executive – Margaret Hansen (Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association)

“It is an honour to be selected to represent Canada’s grain farmers,” said Mr. Nielsen. “Our industry is one of the most progressive and innovative in the country and I look forward to working to ensure that our industry continues to enjoy a policy environment where we can reach our full potential.”

“With the recent finalization of the CETA deal with Europe, anticipated legislation for the Transportation 2030 plan, and ongoing consultations for the next Agricultural Policy Framework, 2017 is sure to be an exciting year for agriculture policy in Canada,” said Mr. Enns. “GGC will remain strong voice for grain farmers in Ottawa.”

The Grain Growers of Canada provides a strong national voice for over 50,000 active and successful grain, oilseed and pulse producers through its 12 provincial and regional grower groups. Our mission and mandate are to pursue a policy environment that maximizes global competitiveness and to influence federal policy on behalf of independent Canadian grain farmers and their associations.


Share On Facebook Share On Twitter Share On LinkedIn