December 3, 2014

Grain Growers of Canada elects President and Vice President

OTTAWA, December 3, 2014 – The Grain Growers of Canada announced today that President Gary Stanford has been re-elected to lead the organization.

Mr. Stanford, who was first elected to the position in Dec. 2013, represents the Alberta Wheat Commission on the Board of Directors.

Each member organization appoints a farmer director to the Grain Growers Board, from which a five person executive is elected. The Grain Growers’ executive for 2014/2015 is:

  • President – Gary Stanford (Alberta Wheat Commission)
  • Vice President – Irmi Critcher (British Columbia Grain Producers Association)
  • Executive – Michael Delaney (Atlantic Grains Council)
  • Executive – Art Enns (Prairie Oat Growers Association)
  • Executive – Jack Froese (Canadian Canola Growers Association)

“I am honored to be re-elected as president of the Grain Growers for the upcoming year,” said Gary Stanford, a farmer from Magrath, Alta. “It has been my privilege to lead this excellent Board and I look forward to what the future holds.”

“Farmers have always played a central role in the Canadian economy,” said Irmi Critcher, newly-elected Vice President of the Grain Growers. “Our members are dedicated to sustainability and nurturing a policy environment that allows them to maximize their global competitiveness.”

The Grain Growers of Canada provides a strong national voice for over 50,000 active and successful grain, oilseed and pulse producers through its 14 provincial and regional grower groups, representing wheat, durum, barley, canola, oat, corn, soybean, pea, lentil, rye, and triticale farmers from across Canada. Our mission and mandate is to pursue a policy environment that maximizes global competitiveness and to influence federal policy on behalf of independent Canadian grain farmers and their associations.


Share On Facebook Share On Twitter Share On LinkedIn